Lace-Covered Candles and Warm Wollen Mittens!


Lately I’ve been focusing on the lace-covered candles, inspired by these lovely things made by wedding planner extraordinaire Beth Helmstetter:

Photo by Jose Villa

Beth has a tutorial to show you step-by-step how it’s done!

My way of doing it was a little different. I ordered lace fabric super cheap online. I ordered a 10-inch eyelet design, so I knew I would have a continuous eyelet pattern whether I was covering 4-inch vases, or 10-inch tall vases. Then I cut out pieces according to the sizes of the glass cylinders I’d collected:

I love that the 10-inch long eyelet pattern means I have a lovely scalloped edge for each glass cylinder, and I don’t have to worry about finishing or folding over the edges.

Being a very impatient person, I didn’t bother to run to Michaels to buy spray adhesive for the fabric. I just busted out some old glue sticks and rolled it all over each fabric piece.

Then I put it on the cylinder at one end and carefully rolled the cylinder until it was completely covered in the fabric. Next, I smoothed out any bubbles and set it aside to dry. This project went surprisingly quickly. I tried to do about eight per night for a couple of weeks straight. I’ve lost count of how many I’ve done at this point. It’s more than 150. I have about 50 left to go.

Stay tuned for a tutorial on how to make birch-covered vases!

Leave a Reply

