A Storybook Ending…


Storybooks are my favorite, from the fairy tales Grimm to Babar the Elephant to yes, even storybooks’ physical manifestation via Storybook Land at Disneyland.

I owe a great part of my admiration for storybooks to my mom, a children’s librarian.

To pay tribute to storybooks in your wedding, try selecting wedding-theme books from your childhood to use as program backings!

I created program backs using the pages of my favorite children’s book (about a wedding, of course!) “A Frog Went A-Courting” adapted and illustrated by Nina Barbaresi:

I used different pages so for about every row of seats, if guests put their programs together, they can get the gist of the story:

Here’s the front of the program–it’s pretty cool how the colors match the books’ colors! Look for colors in storybooks that match your own invitations’ colors.

By the way, here is what the aftermath of cutting out 100 programs, and their backing, and assembling them, looks like:

Yes, you can get these professionally die-cut! Or create your own template and cut them out yourself if you’re willing to devote the bride-hours!

Another way to incorporate children’s literature into your wedding is through sweet readings. We’ve all heard of readings from The Little Prince. But readings can be found in almost any children’s book.

My favorite happens to be The Runaway Bunny. I adapted it and added text to it:

“As many of you know, this book is a conversation between a mother rabbit and her bunny, who wants to run away. As some of you know, the bride’s mother happens to be a children’s librarian, and if you couldn’t already tell by the programs, such literature holds a special place in their hearts.

A certain truth about relationships is revealed in Margaret Wise Brown’s classic children’s book The Runaway Bunny.

In the book, the bunny tells his mother “I am running away….If you run after me, I will become a fish in a trout stream and I will swim away from you…” to which his mother responds that no matter how far he wants to go, no matter how well he wants to hide, his mother will be there: “if you become a bird and fly away from me,” says his mother, “I will be a tree that you come home to….if you become a crocus in a hidden garden…I will be a gardener and I will find you…… if you become a rock on the mountain high above me I will be a mountain climber, and I will climb to where you are,” the book reads.

In our closest relationships we need to give each other the freedom to be ourselves by holding space for each other’s evolution safely in our hearts at the same time as we maintain our deepest, closest connection. Our partner can change and explore, always knowing that we will be there. It is this balance between communion and autonomy, between adventure and intimacy, held in a profoundly mutual and loving space that we wish for Miss Paisley and Professor Paisley throughout their lives together.”

And that’s all there is to it!

Do tell, what’s your favorite children’s storybook that never fails to put a smile on your face?

1 Comment »

  1. Charlne Mandau said

    You are so crafty, I love it!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

