The Temperature’s Right for this DIY Project!


Yes, folks. I checked and it is currently 69 degrees with humidity at 50 percent, which means perfect conditions in Irvine, California for a certain do-it-yourself project I’ve been dying to try ever since I saw this on Martha:

The project calls for paper stencils that you then pin onto a doormat before spray painting.

Last week, I saw this holiday version over on Young House Love:

I have my own little reindeer-inspired design I’d love to see on a mat in front of my door, from this woodcut I made last Christmas for the cards we sent out to close family and friends:

I apologize for the poor-quality photo (I just snapped it real quick on photo booth on my mac), but you get the idea.

It was inspired by this design from Pottery Barn (my oh-so-similar woodcut version was for personal use and not for any sort of profit, I swear, so it’s less of a rip-off that way):

Since I’m a big fan of jewel tones for Christmas: deep purples, forest green, ruby reds and navy blues, I chose this midnight blue color spray paint to get the job done:

I figure it will also help Santa and his reindeer appear as though they’re flying through a night sky. More so than had I chosen a cherry red backdrop, another very Santa-y color I considered.

I’m going to throw in some snowflake die cuts onto the design as well. I made them on my Cricut last year for some quick and easy Christmas tree ornaments.

Well, enough dilly-dallying I’m off to start a-drawing and a-stenciling and spray paintin’ away! Stay tuned to see the results!

1 Comment »

  1. […] For part I of this DIY mat-making adventure, click here. […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

